Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities (CTJSC) is committed to protecting the privacy and security of all personal information obtained while fulfilling its mandate of helping financially challenged families. CTJSC’s privacy policy and practices have been designed to ensure that all personal information is handled appropriately and in accordance with the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) and applicable provincial legislation.

CTJSC’s commitment to ensuring the safety and security of all personal information is governed by the following privacy principles:

1. Accountability

CTJSC is responsible for all personal information under its control including any personal information that is transferred to third parties for processing, storage or other purposes.

2. Identifying Purposes

CTJSC will identify the purpose for which personal information is collected. CTJSC does this at the time of or before information collection.

3. Consent

CTJSC will obtain consent to collect, use or disclose personal information either by directly requesting it, or consent may be implied by conduct in providing the information to CTJSC. The method of obtaining consent will be appropriate to the type of personal information being collected, used or disclosed:

Express consent (either oral or written) will be obtained for sensitive personal information, such as financial information.
Implied consent may be taken for less sensitive information, where one or more of the following apply:
A relationship already exists;
Express consent has previously been given;
The purpose of using the personal information is reasonably apparent.
CTJSC will not disclose personal information to any third party without your written consent, unless it is required by law to do so or as otherwise required for the agreed upon purpose.

4. Limiting Collection

CTJSC collects only the personal information necessary for the identified purpose. CTJSC will collect personal information only by clear, fair and lawful means.

5. Limiting Use, Disclosure and Retention

CTJSC uses and discloses personal information only for the identified purposes. If any personal information is shared with third parties, these third parties are bound by appropriate agreements with CTJSC to secure and protect the confidentiality of this personal information.

CTJSC retains personal information only as long as it is required for the identified purposes or as required by applicable federal and provincial laws.

CTJSC may use service providers located outside of Canada, and, if applicable, your personal information may be processed and stored in other countries and therefore may be subject to disclosure under the laws of those countries.

6. Accuracy

CTJSC is committed to maintaining the accuracy of personal information for as long as it is being used. CTJSC will make best efforts to ensure that all personal information in its possession is kept up to date, accurate and relevant for its intended use. An individual may request access to their personal information that CTJSC has on record in order to review and correct the information, as appropriate.

7. Security

CTJSC takes steps to safeguard your personal information, regardless of the format in which it is held, including:

physical security measures such as restricted access facilities and locked filing cabinets;
electronic security measures for computerized personal information such as password protection, database encryption and personal identification numbers;
limiting individual access to personal information to only those persons with a need for this information in the performance of their duties; contractual obligations obtained from third parties who require access to personal information.

8. Openness

CTJSC is committed to providing information about our policy and practices related to the management of personal information. This policy and any related information is available at all times on the Canadian Tire Web Site, www.canadiantire.ca under Jumpstart.

9. Individual Access

Individuals can request to review and verify the accuracy and completeness and request that changes be made to their personal information retained by CTSJC by contacting the Canadian Tire Corporation Privacy Office (contact details outlined below).

10. CTJSC responds to questions, concerns and complaints about privacy

CTJSC will respond in a timely manner to questions, concerns and complaints regarding the privacy of personal information in its control and its privacy policies and procedures. Please refer to the contact information outlined below.

Jumpstart Privacy Office Contact Information:

Phone:
416-544-6077

Email:

Mail:
Canadian Tire Privacy Office
2180 Yonge Street
P.O. Box 770 Stn. K
Toronto, Ontario
M4P 2V8

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire s’engage à protéger la confidentialité et la sécurité de tous les renseignements personnels obtenus dans le cadre de son mandat qui consiste à aider les familles aux prises avec des difficultés financières. La politique et les pratiques mises en place par l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire ont été élaborées pour assurer que tous les renseignements personnels soient traités adéquatement et conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDÉ) et à toute loi provinciale applicable.

Les principes suivants régissent l’engagement de l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire à assurer la sécurité et la confidentialité de tous les renseignements personnels:

1. Responsabilité

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire est responsable de tous les renseignements personnels qui sont sous son contrôle, y compris tous les renseignements personnels transférés à une tierce partie à des fins de traitement, de stockage ou autres.

2. Identification de la raison

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire précisera la raison de la collecte des renseignements personnels. Elle le fait au moment de la collecte des renseignements ou avant.

3. Consentement

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire obtiendra le consentement pour la collecte, l’utilisation ou la communication des renseignements personnels, soit en en faisant directement la demande, soit en supposant que le consentement est implicite du fait que l’on fournit les renseignements à l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire. La méthode employée pour obtenir le consentement sera fonction du type de renseignements personnels faisant l’objet de la collecte, de l’utilisation ou de la communication:

  • Le consentement explicite (verbal ou écrit) sera obtenu pour les renseignements confidentiels, comme les renseignements d’ordre financier.
  • Le consentement implicite peut convenir pour les renseignements de nature moins confidentielle, dans un ou plusieurs des cas suivants:
  • une relation existe déjà;
  • le consentement explicite a déjà été obtenu;
  • la raison justifiant l’utilisation des renseignements personnels est raisonnablement évidente.

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire ne communiquera pas vos renseignements personnels à un tiers sans votre consentement écrit, sauf si la loi l’exige ou s’ils sont autrement requis pour la raison convenue.

4. Limite de la collecte

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire ne collecte que les renseignements personnels nécessaires pour la raison précisée. Elle recueille des renseignements personnels uniquement en employant des moyens clairs, justes et licites.

5. Limite de l’utilisation, de la communication et de la conservation

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire utilise et communique les renseignements personnels seulement aux fins précisées. Si elle partage des renseignements personnels avec une tierce partie, cette tierce partie est liée à l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire par les ententes nécessaires visant à protéger la confidentialité et la sécurité de ces renseignements personnels.

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire ne conserve les renseignements personnels que tant qu’ils sont requis pour la raison précisée ou selon les exigences stipulées par les lois fédérales et provinciales.

Il se peut que l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire fasse appel à des fournisseurs de services situés à l’extérieur du Canada, et le cas échéant, que vos renseignements personnels soient traités et stockés dans d’autres pays et donc soumis aux lois en vigueur dans ces pays concernant la divulgation des renseignements.

6. Exactitude

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire s’engage à maintenir l’exactitude des renseignements personnels aussi longtemps qu’ils sont utilisés. Elle assure de son mieux la mise à jour, l’exactitude et la pertinence de tous les renseignements personnels qui sont en sa possession en fonction de leur utilisation prévue. Une personne peut demander d’avoir accès aux renseignements personnels que l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire détient à son sujet dans ses dossiers afin de pouvoir les vérifier et les modifier, au besoin.

7. Sécurité

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire prends des mesures strictes pour protéger vos renseignements personnels, quel que soit le format sous lequel nous les détenons, entre autres:

mesures de sécurité physique, telles que des bureaux à accès contrôlé et des classeurs verrouillés;
des mesures de sécurité électronique pour les renseignements personnels informatisés comme la protection par mot de passe, le cryptage des bases de données et les numéros d’identification personnels;
l’obtention d'obligations contractuelles de la part des tierces parties qui ont besoin d’accéder aux renseignements personnels.

8. Ouverture

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire s’engage à fournir l’information concernant sa politique et ses pratiques en matière de gestion des renseignements personnels. Cette politique et tout renseignement connexe sont accessibles en tout temps sur le site Web de Canadian Tire http://www.canadiantire.ca, sous Bon départ.

9. Accès individuel

Toute personne peut consulter les renseignements personnels détenus par l’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire à son sujet, vérifier s’ils sont exacts et complets et demander qu’on y apporte des changements en communiquant avec le bureau de la protection de la vie privée de la Société Canadian Tire (voir les coordonnées ci-dessous).

10. L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire répondra à vos questions, vos inquiétudes et vos plaintes en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

L’Œuvre Bon départ de Canadian Tire répondra promptement à toute question, préoccupation et plainte concernant la confidentialité et la sécurité des renseignements personnels sous son contrôle et ses politiques et méthodes en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Voir les coordonnées ci-dessous.

Coordonnées du bureau de la protection de la vie privée

Si vous avez des questions ou préoccupations concernant notre politique ou nos méthodes en matière de confidentialité, ou si vous aimeriez consulter, vérifier ou modifier vos renseignements personnels, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous. Voici nos coordonnées:

Téléphone:
416-544-6077

Courriel:

Par la poste:
Bureau de la protection de la vie privée de Canadian Tire
2180, rue Yonge
C.P. 770, succursale K
Toronto (Ontario)
M4P 2V8