PARASPORT JUMPSTART FUND

Since 2013, Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities and Canadian Paralympic Committee have been engaged in a partnership to create greater opportunities for children and youth with disabilities between the ages of 4 and 25, and who face barriers to actively participate in organized sports and physical activity. 

The Parasport Jumpstart Fund provides funding to support quality sport and physical activity programs that provide positive introductory and early competition Para sport experiences. Parasport Jumpstart funding covers costs associated with registration, transportation and equipment. 

WHAT ORGANIZATIONS ARE ELIGIBLE FOR PARASPORT JUMPSTART GRANTS?
Organizations that are qualified donees, as classified by Canada Revenue Agency, are eligible to apply for the grant. For more information on qualified donees please visit: https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/charities-giving/list-charities/list-charities-other-qualified-donees.html
ELIGIBLE SPORTS & PHYSICAL ACTIVITY
The Parasport Jumpstart Fund supports programs offering organized integrated or adaptive sport and physical activity for children and youth with a disability. Every program will look different based on the organization running the program and the participants involved. Applicants will be asked to indicate the types of sports and physical activity included in the proposed program. Examples include:  

1. Paralympic Sport:  Paralympic sport programming includes sports that are currently on the Paralympic Games programs. There are 28 sports on the Paralympic program. Click here for a complete list: http://games.paralympic.ca/paralympic-sports

2. Para sport: Para sport programs can encompass integrative or adaptive sport for persons with a disability. The term “para” comes from the word parallel meaning parallel to non-adaptive sports. 

3. Multi-sport: Multi-sport refers to programs that offer multiple sports or activities. These types of programs are often important at the entry level stages for children and youth in order to expose them to varying experiences. 

4. Organized Physical Activity:  Put simply, physical activity can be considered moving your body to use energy. While this could be actively getting to school or doing chores around the house, organized activity means there is a clear structure to the activity such as a water aerobics class, a group walking or wheeling program, or a physical literacy program.
PARTICIPANT STAGES
To better understand the intent and focus of the program, applicants will be asked to identify which category their program falls under. Categories align with development stages from the Sport for Life Long Term Development for Sport and Physical Activity Framework. Programs can include multiple stages. 

1. Awareness, First Involvement and Recruitment:  Awareness, First Involvement and Recruitment programs focus on building awareness of opportunities and providing positive first experiences in sport and physical activity. Research has shown that providing positive first experiences and ensuring participants have support to access ongoing opportunities is extremely important for sustainable participation. 

2. Participation: Participation based programs focus on emphasizing sport for fun and for fitness, and aim to provide quality experiences for ongoing participation so that everyone can have access to sport and physical activity either at the entry level or Active for Life stages. 

3. Development: Any athlete may choose to move onto a path to higher levels of early competition and performance and thus the transition from recreational or grassroots participation is extremely important. These are programs targeting entry level competition and developing performance skills – comparable to Learn to Train and Train to Train stages.

TYPES OF PROGRAMMING
Organizations can apply for Parasport Jumpstart funding under two categories of programming. Applicants will be asked to select which category their program qualifies under. 

1. New / Emerging Programs: New Para sport programs that are at the idea or conceptual stage or are emerging programs within its first three years of operation. This funding is intended to allow organizations to pilot new programs to meet a community need and explore the feasibility of continued programming. 

2. Established Programs: Existing Para sport programs that have operated successfully for four years or more that are looking to expand, adapt, replicate or improve their programming. This funding is intended to allow established programs to build on proven evidence-based success. 


ELIGIBLE PROGRAM TERMS 
Eligible programs must run between September 1, 2019 – August 31, 2020 
HOW ARE PARASPORT GRANT APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED?
1. Read and understand all the eligibility criteria and funding guidelines prior to submitting your application.  

2. Complete the application form (here – link to application) and provide all applicable information before the end date.

Applications must be received by April 19, 2019. Late applications will not be accepted.
WHO REVIEWS SUBMISSIONS?
All applications will be adjudicated by a review panel comprised of representatives from Jumpstart and CPC. All decisions will be shared no later than July 2019. 

Jumpstart and CPC reserve the right to decrease any funding request if we feel the budget is too large for the program proposed.
HOW ARE FUNDS DISBURSED TO SUCCESSFUL APPLICANTS?
Funds are disbursed in 2 intervals for approved grants:

• 70% - upon approval of the grant
• 30% - upon submission of the child data and final report
WHAT IS THE TIMELINE FOR SUBMISSIONS?
Fully completed applications must be submitted between the following deadlines: 
March 18, 2019 - April 19, 2019.
CONTACT WITH QUESTIONS
Tel: 1-844-YES-PLAY

WHAT QUALIFIES AS AN ESTABLISHED PROGRAM? 
Existing parasport programs are programs that have operated successfully for four years or more that are looking to expand, adapt, replicate or improve their programming. This funding is intended to allow established programs to build on proven evidence-based success. Examples include: 

• Expanding a successful parasport program by adding additional instructors or equipment in order to increase the number of participants the program can support
• Partnering with another organization to replicate a successful program in a new city to meet demand for an underserved community 
• Improve the quality of an existing program by purchasing new adaptive equipment to meet the needs of current participants
WHEN IS THE APPLICATION DUE?
Friday, April 19, 2019 at 11:59 PM EDT.
WHAT CHILD AND YOUTH DATA IS REQUIRED?
Once the program is approved, before the final payment is disbursed organization are required to upload child data of all the participating children to their Grant Portal. The required data is as follows:
• Child name (First and Last) 
• Date of Birth 
• Postal Code
• Gender
WHAT IS THE CHILD AND YOUTH DATA USED FOR?
The information collected will be used for evaluating the success of programs for the purposes of future development as well as developing trends in Para sport and physical activity in Canada. 
WHEN WILL I KNOW IF MY APPLICATION WAS SUCCESSFUL?
Adjudication of all applications will take place in May and June 2019. All applicants will be notified by July 2019. 
WHEN WILL I RECEIVE THE GRANT?
Funds are disbursed in 2 intervals for approved grants:
70% - upon approval of the grant
30% - upon submission of the child data and final report

See – “What child and youth data is required?” for more information on child data. 
WHAT IF I DON’T KNOW THE NUMBER OF CHILDREN THAT WILL ATTEND?
Please try and be as accurate as possible. If more or less children attend then anticipated you will be able to make an adjustment to the final numbers in your final report. 
MY PROGRAM HAS ALREADY STARTED CAN I APPLY FOR A GRANT?
No, you are not eligible for a grant if your program has already started.
HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO COMPLETE MY FUNDED PROGRAM?
All programming funded by the Parasport Jumpstart Fund must be completed no later than August 31, 2020. 
WHAT IF I MISS THE DEADLINE CAN MY ORGANIZATION APPLY?
No, you are not able to apply if you miss the deadline. 
NEED MORE INFORMATION?
If you have any further questions about the grant or application, please e-mail  jumpstart_admin@cantire.com

FONDS PARASPORT DE BON DÉPART

Depuis 2013, la Fondation Bon départ de Canadian Tire et le Comité paralympique canadien font équipe pour offrir de meilleures occasions aux enfants et aux jeunes de 4 à 25 ans ayant une limitation fonctionnelle qui sont confrontés à des obstacles à la participation active à des activités sportives et physiques structurées. 

Le Fonds parasport de Bon départ assure un financement pour soutenir des programmes d’activités sportives et physiques de qualité qui favorisent des expériences positives d’introduction au parasport et de début de compétitions parasportives. Il couvre les frais associés à l’inscription, au transport et à l’équipement. 

QUELS ORGANISMES SONT ADMISSIBLES À UNE SUBVENTION BON DÉPART 
POUR LE PARASPORT?


Les organismes qui sont des donataires reconnus, conformément à la définition de l’Agence du revenu du Canada, peuvent faire une demande de subvention. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les donataires reconnus, veuillez vous rendre à l’adresse : https://www.canada.ca/fr/agence-revenu/services/organismes-bienfaisance-dons/liste-organismes-bienfaisance/liste-organismes-bienfaisance-autres-donataires-reconnus.html
SPORTS ET ACTIVITÉS PHYSIQUES ADMISSIBLES
Le Fonds parasport de Bon départ soutient des programmes qui offrent des activités sportives et physiques structurées, intégrées ou adaptées, aux enfants et aux jeunes ayant une limitation fonctionnelle. Chaque programme diffère en fonction de l’organisme qui le gère et de ses participants. Les demandeurs devront indiquer les types de sports et d’activités physiques offerts dans le cadre du programme proposé. Par exemple : 

1. Sports paralympiques : Les programmes de sports paralympiques comprennent des sports qui sont actuellement inscrits aux programmes des Jeux paralympiques. On compte 28 sports dans le cadre du programme paralympique. Cliquez ici pour en obtenir la liste complète : http://jeux.paralympique.ca/sports-paralympiques 

2. Parasport : Les programmes de parasport peuvent comprendre des sports intégrés ou adaptés à l’intention des personnes ayant une limitation fonctionnelle. La dénomination « parasport » vient du préfixe « para » que l’on trouve dans « parallèle », dans le contexte d’un sport pratiqué parallèlement à un sport non adapté. 

3. Multisport : Le multisport fait référence aux programmes qui offrent des sports et des activités multiples. Ces types de programmes jouent souvent un rôle important aux premiers stades de développement des enfants et des jeunes en leur faisant vivre des expériences variées. 

4. Activité physique structurée : En termes simples, l’activité physique consiste à bouger son corps pour entraîner une dépense énergétique. Bien que cela puisse consister à se rendre activement à l’école ou à accomplir des tâches à la maison, une activité structurée s’appuie sur une structure définie, comme dans le cas d’un cours de danse aquatique, d’une randonnée en groupe, ou d’un programme d’activités en fauteuil roulant ou de culture de l’activité physique.

STADES DE PARTICIPATION
Afin de mieux définir le but et l’orientation du programme, les demandeurs devront déterminer la catégorie de leur programme. Les catégories sont conformes aux stades de développement du cadre de développement à long terme du participant/athlète de l’initiative Le sport, c’est pour la vie. Les programmes peuvent comprendre plusieurs stades. 

1. Prise de conscience, première participation et recrutement : Les programmes axés sur la prise de conscience, la première participation et le recrutement visent à faire connaître les occasions et à offrir des premières expériences de sport et d’activité physique positives. Les recherches ont démontré qu’il est extrêmement important d’offrir des premières expériences positives et de s’assurer que les participants bénéficient du soutien nécessaire pour profiter d’occasions continues afin de favoriser la participation. 

2. Participation : Les programmes axés sur la participation mettent l’accent sur la pratique d’un sport pour s’amuser et pour garder la forme, et visent à offrir des expériences de qualité afin de favoriser la participation continue et l’accès au sport et à l’activité physique au stade débutant ou Vie active. 

3. Développement : Tout athlète peut choisir de gravir les échelons menant à l’amorce de l’entraînement à la compétition et à la performance. La transition depuis la participation récréative ou communautaire est donc extrêmement importante. Il s’agit de programmes orientés vers la compétition de niveau débutant et le développement des habiletés de performance – ce qui est comparable aux stades Apprendre à s’entraîner et S’entraîner à s’entraîner.

TYPES DE PROGRAMMES
Les organismes peuvent faire une demande pour le Fonds parasport de Bon départ au sein de deux catégories de programmes. Les demandeurs devront sélectionner la catégorie à laquelle appartient leur programme. 

1. Nouveaux programmes / programmes émergents : Les nouveaux programmes de parasport qui en sont au stade d’idée ou de concept ou les programmes émergents qui sont exécutés depuis trois ans ou moins. Ce financement vise à permettre aux organismes de piloter de nouveaux programmes afin de répondre aux besoins de leur communauté et d’explorer la faisabilité d’une exécution continue. 

2. Programmes établis : Programmes de parasport existants, exécutés efficacement depuis au moins quatre ans et faisant l’objet de projets d’expansion, d’adaptation, de répétition ou d’amélioration. Ce financement vise à permettre aux programmes établis de miser sur des réussites démontrées, fondées sur des résultats probants. 

Modalités d’admissibilité des programmes 

Les programmes admissibles doivent être exécutés entre le 1er septembre 2019 et le 31 août 2020. 


COMMENT LES DEMANDES DE FINANCEMENT POUR LE PARASPORT SONT-ELLES PRÉSENTÉES?
1. Lisez et assurez-vous de bien comprendre tous les critères d’admissibilité et les lignes directrices relatives au financement avant de présenter votre demande.  

2. Remplissez le formulaire de demande (ici – lien au formulaire de demande) en fournissant tous les renseignements requis avant la date limite. 

Les demandes doivent être reçues au plus tard le 19 avril 2019. Les demandes reçues en retard ne seront pas acceptées.
QUI EXAMINE LES DEMANDES?
Toutes les demandes seront examinées par un comité d’évaluation composé de représentants de Bon départ et du CPC. Toutes les décisions seront communiquées au plus tard en juillet 2019. 
Bon départ et le CPC se réservent le droit de réduire toute demande de financement s’il est estimé que le budget est trop important pour le programme proposé.

COMMENT LES FONDS SONT-ILS DISTRIBUÉS AUX DEMANDEURS CHOISIS?
Les fonds de subventions approuvées sont distribués en deux versements :

• 70 % - après l’approbation de la subvention

• 30 % - après la présentation des données sur les enfants et du rapport final
QUEL EST LE CALENDRIER DE PRÉSENTATION DES DEMANDES?
Voici les échéances pour présenter les demandes dûment remplies : 
Entre le 18 mars et le 19 avril 2019

SI VOUS AVEZ DES QUESTIONS, COMMUNIQUEZ AVEC NOUS :
Tél. : 1 844 AUX-JEUX