JUMPSTART ACCESSIBILITY GRANTS

Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities is a national charity dedicated to helping kids overcome financial and accessibility barriers to sport and recreation in order to provide inclusive play for kids of all abilities. With an extensive, national network of more than 1,900 Community Partners and nearly 300 local chapters, Jumpstart helps eligible families cover the costs of registration, transportation, and equipment, and provides funding to selected organizations for recreational infrastructure and programming. Supported by the Canadian Tire Family of Companies, Jumpstart has enabled over 1.5 million Canadian kids to get in the game since 2005.

Jumpstart’s Play Finds A Way is a ground-breaking movement to help remove barriers for kids with disabilities. One of the programs within Play Finds A Way includes the Jumpstart Accessibility Grants, which are intended to support capital costs of construction and renovations related to improving physical accessibility to, and inclusivity in recreation facilities for children with disabilities in Canadian communities.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE

The following types of organizations are eligible to apply for Jumpstart Accessibility Grants funding through Jumpstart:

• Municipalities and public recreation centres/facilities
• Schools with publically accessible facilities
• Community organizations with publicly accessible recreation facilities (e.g.: YMCA, Boys & Girls Club, Big Brothers Big Sisters, etc)
• Public recreation spaces owned and operated by private Foundations

Examples of organizations that are not eligible for funding include hospitals, privately-owned recreation facilities, and places of worship.

FUNDING STREAMS AND AMOUNTS

There are 2 funding streams within the Jumpstart Accessibility Grants:

  1. Accessibility-Enabling Grants: Jumpstart will provide grants up to $50,000 for projects designed to help organizations enable general accessibility within their facilities. Where possible, applications should demonstrate evidence of matching funds or in-kind support from Federal/Provincial/Territorial and/or municipal governments. Up to 14 Accessibility-Enabling Grants will be awarded annually;

  2. Inclusive Design Innovation Grants: Jumpstart will provide grants between $250,000 and $1,000,000 for projects designed to enhance existing building plans for sport and recreation spaces with uniquely innovative solutions for inclusion & accessibility for children of different abilities. On an annual basis, jumpstart will award:
a. Up to four grants valued at $250,000
b. Up to two grants valued at $500,000
c. Two grants valued at $1,000,000

WHAT EXPENDITURES ARE ELIGIBLE 

The Jumpstart Accessibility Grants provide funding for projects that improve accessibility, inclusion and safety for children with disabilities through renovations, retrofits or construction of community facilities and venues so that recreation programs and/or services can be accessed and enjoyed by children of all abilities. 

Eligible activities under the Inclusive Design Innovation Grants stream should set a new standard for universal access. Examples include but are not limited to:

• Upgrading a recreational field (e.g.: baseball field) to be fully accessible and inclusive (e.g: Challenger baseball field);
• Enhancing plans for rinks to make them fully accessible and inclusive for para-hockey use;
• Enhancing plans for a field house or indoor gym by ensuring that flooring surfaces, court dividers and changerooms are all universally accessible.

Examples of eligible activities under the Accessibility Enabling Grants stream include, but are not limited to:

• Renovations to widen hallways/doorways that are too narrow for a child using a wheelchair, electric scooter or walker;
• Installing elevators or lifts;
• Building continuous accessible walkways between outdoor amenities at a recreation facility (i.e. between tennis courts, pools, playgrounds, and parks)

HOW TO APPLY

Eligible organizations must submit a full online application for funding by Friday, March 16, 2018 at 11:59PM EST. Applicants must include details of user-group and/or community stakeholder consultations as well as letters of endorsement from user groups and/or community stakeholders. 

A Grant Advisory Committee comprised of subject matter experts will evaluate and adjudicate all submissions. 
All applicants will be advised on the status of their submissions by June 4, 2018.

CONTACT WITH QUESTIONS

Email: jumpstart_pfaw@cantire.com
 Tel: 1-844- YES-PLAY

SUBVENTIONS BON DÉPART POUR L’ACCESSIBILITÉ

La Fondation Bon départ de Canadian Tire est un organisme caritatif national qui aide les enfants de toutes les capacités à surmonter les obstacles financiers et d’accessibilité qui limitent l’accès aux activités récréatives et sportives. Grâce à un vaste réseau national de plus de 1 900 partenaires communautaires et près de 300 sections locales, Bon départ aide les familles admissibles à couvrir les frais de transport et d’équipement et finance des organismes sélectionnés pour le paiement des frais associés aux infrastructures et à la programmation récréatives. Appuyée par la grande famille Canadian Tire, la Fondation Bon départ a permis à plus de 1,5 million de jeunes Canadiens à participer à des activités sportives depuis 2005.

Le mouvement novateur Parce qu’on veut tous jouer de Bon départ contribue à éliminer les obstacles pour les enfants handicapés. Un des programmes du mouvement Parce qu’on veut tous jouer, les subventions Bon départ pour l’accessibilité, est conçu pour contribuer aux dépenses d’investissement liées à la construction et aux rénovations afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité physique des installations récréatives et l’inclusion des enfants handicapés des communautés canadiennes.

PERSONNES ADMISSIBLES

Les types d’organismes suivants peuvent demander une subvention Bon départ pour l’accessibilité à Bon départ :

• municipalités et centres ou établissements publics récréatifs,
• écoles dotées d’installations accessibles au public,
• organismes communautaires détenant des installations accessibles au public (p. ex., YMCA, Club Garçons et Filles, Grands Frères, Grandes Sœurs, etc.),
• espaces récréatifs publics détenus et exploités par des fondations privées.

Notons comme organismes qui ne sont pas admissibles, les hôpitaux, les installations récréatives privées et les lieux de culte.

SOURCES DE FINANCEMENT ET MONTANTS

Le programme de subventions Bon départ pour l’accessibilité offre deux sources de financement :

  1. Subventions favorisant l’accessibilité : Bon départ accordera une subvention allant jusqu’à 50 000 $ à des projets conçus pour aider un organisme à procurer un accès général au sein de ses installations. Dans la mesure du possible, les demandes doivent présenter une preuve d’un financement ou d’un soutien en nature correspondant de la part des gouvernements fédéral, provincial, territorial ou municipal. Jusqu’à 14 subventions favorisant l’accessibilité sont remises annuellement.

  2. Subventions pour l’innovation en conception inclusive : Bon départ offrira des subventions de 250 000 $ à 1 000 000 $ à des projets visant à améliorer les plans d’espaces sportifs et récréatifs existants qui proposent des solutions innovantes uniques afin d’inclure les enfants de capacités différentes et de leur donner accès à ces espaces. Bon départ remettra annuellement :
a. jusqu’à quatre subventions de 250 000 $,
b. jusqu’à deux subventions de 500 000 $,
c. deux subventions de 1 000 000 $.

DÉPENSES ADMISSIBLES

Le programme de subventions Bon départ pour l’accessibilité offre un financement à des projets qui améliorent l’accessibilité, l’inclusion et la sécurité des enfants handicapés grâce à des rénovations, à des conversions ou à la construction d’installations et de lieux communautaires pour que tous les enfants, peu importe leurs capacités, aient accès aux programmes et aux services récréatifs.

Les activités admissibles aux subventions pour l’innovation en conception inclusive doivent définir de nouvelles normes en matière d’accès universel. Notons entre autres exemples :

• mise à niveau d’un terrain récréatif (p. ex., terrain de baseball) pour le rendre entièrement accessible et inclusif (p. ex, terrain de baseball Challenger),
• amélioration de plans pour rendre un aréna entièrement accessible et inclusif pour le hockey sur luge,
• amélioration des plans d’un complexe ou d’une salle d’entraînement intérieure pour s’assurer que les revêtements de plancher, les séparateurs de terrain et les vestiaires sont accessibles à tous.

Notons entre autres activités admissibles aux subventions favorisant l’accessibilité :

• des rénovations pour élargir les couloirs et les entrées de porte trop étroits pour un fauteuil roulant, un triporteur électrique ou un cadre de marche,
• l’installation d’ascenseurs ou d’élévateurs,
• la construction d’allées piétonnières entre les installations extérieures d’une installation récréative (p. ex., entre des terrains de tennis, des piscines, des terrains de jeu et des parcs).

CANDIDATURES

Les organismes admissibles doivent présenter une demande de financement complète en ligne (ajouter le lien) avant le vendredi 16 mars 2018 à 23 h 59 HNE. Les demandeurs doivent inclure les détails des consultations avec les groupes d’utilisateurs ou les partenaires communautaires ainsi que des lettres d’appui de la part de groupes d’utilisateurs ou de partenaires communautaires.

Un comité consultatif d’experts techniques évaluera et jugera toutes les demandes de subvention.
Nous indiquerons l’état des demandes à tous les demandeurs au plus tard le 4 juin 2018.

QUESTIONS

Courriel : jumpstart_pfaw@cantire.com
Tél : 1-844-YES-PLAY